Short subjects

More about the new thang

Final auditions for the new Michael Brownlee short are tomorrow, and we hope to award roles this week. Meanwhile we’re working on production design and storyboards, and hope to shoot in mid-June sometime.

Hi. I’m Joe, and I have a disk drive addiction

Hard drives. Oh, man. I remember the 4 GB (yup) drives that came with the first Sonic Solutions audio workstation I used in 1993. They were as big as a car battery and cost two grand apiece. Now I can carry that much storage in my coat pocket, on an object that is smaller than a tube of Chapstick and costs less than twenty bucks. This doesn’t make them any less of a pain in the ass. I’m currently juggling about ten individual hard drives, some with current projects and some with archives. Some contain projects that have been active for over five years. I’ve had at least half that number of drives go bad. As Blood likes to say, there are two kinds of people in the world: those who have had a catastrophic hard drive crash and those who are going to. Of course, I keep redundant copies of all my data, but geez, I really wish I could spend more time creating work and less time trying to make sure I don’t lose any of it. Big fancy RAID arrays are cool but a lot of money to spend all at once. It’s gotten to the point where if I’m driving home and I pass Micro Center or Best Buy, I think about stopping and buying another hard drive…but I can’t do this piecemeal anymore, it’s too risky (apologies to Vanessa Redgrave).

“Moated Grange Blues,” by Griffin/Shakespeare

Saturday we recorded vocals and some voiceover for the Measure For Measure sound design. Herman Wilkins from the Measure cast came in to replace the rough vocals I had put down for the song in Act 4, scene 1 (Mr. Shakespeare left us lots of words but no music, so we composers/sound designers are left to fend for ourselves…though it’s nice to be able to share songwriting credit with him). A consummate pro, Herman nailed the vocal work and really “put the eyebrows on” the cues, as Frank Zappa would say. Sunday I watched a rehearsal, which made me even more excited about the production…this show is going to be really good.

About toxicbag

Toxic Bag Productions, Inc. provides sound effects and music for independent films, animated shorts, theatrical productions, dance performances, podcasts and video games. They work out of their studio on the north side of Chicago.

Posted on April 27, 2009, in Behind the Scenes, Random Ness Monster, Theatah and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

