When geeks do theatre

Last week I was talking with Liz, the lighting designer for Measure For Measure, about cue numbering. I tend to number cues by tens in case I have to add in more cues later. I think I learned that from one of the designers I trained with, but this is not #namedrop Friday. Either way, it’s a strategy that has puzzled at least one technical director I’ve worked with. It’s not uncommon to get up to Q350 or more, but of course if you’re going by tens that only sounds like a big number.

In any event, somehow Liz and I came up with the idea of cueing a show using prime numbers, which then led (naturally) to the idea of using the Fibonacci sequence. For some reason the thought of a show with two Cue Ones was really funny.

There may have been beer involved. I’m sure you’ll agree, it’s scarier if there wasn’t.

About toxicbag

Toxic Bag Productions, Inc. provides sound effects and music for independent films, animated shorts, theatrical productions, dance performances, podcasts and video games. They work out of their studio on the north side of Chicago.

Posted on May 22, 2009, in Theatah and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. If you ever design a show for me, you are REQUIRED to number the cues using a Fibonacci sequence.

    I’ll hear nothing else.

  2. You mean when I design a show for you, right, jj?

  3. Right on, Joe. I just like telling people “Try saying Sound Cue 24.45 Five times fast. Now buy your stage manager a fifth of jameson.”

    Also, how bout those people that want you to live in the “Letter Cue” Ghetto? You can only have 26 cues in a show. Enjoy.

    (This is my way of saying: Congrats, you’re hired)

    • Totally, Nick. One recent design was Letter Cues, at the SM’s request (so that it wouldn’t get confused with Lights’ numbered cues) . I didn’t mind it, but it was weird to get used to. I did skip every other letter but had to resort to Cue M.2 and M.5 from time to time…

Leave a Reply

