Bell-Bottom Blu-Ray

“See this? Gonna make CDs obsolete. Guess this means I’ll have to buy the White Album again…”
–Tommy Lee Jones, Men In Black

PC world asks: why doesn’t anyone want a Blu-Ray player?

Their conclusion, “Home theater buffs and early adopters may take to Blu-ray, but most consumers will likely bypass HD discs altogether and advance directly to movie streaming and download services”, is probably spot on, but for me, I dunno…

I bought a bunch of albums on LP.
Then I had to buy them again on CD.
I bought a bunch of movies on VHS.
Then I had to buy them again on DVD.

I’m really not looking forward to re-purchasing my whole collection again.


On a related note, why is it that consumer video technology is getting better by leaps and bounds, but in the music world we’ve gone from LP and CD down to mp3?

About toxicbag

Toxic Bag Productions, Inc. provides sound effects and music for independent films, animated shorts, theatrical productions, dance performances, podcasts and video games. They work out of their studio on the north side of Chicago.

Posted on June 22, 2009, in Random Ness Monster and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I think the $30+ price tag per blueray doesn’t help. At that price, you have to really love it to buy it.

    Even before the economic meltdown, I thought the entry point was way too high.

Leave a Reply

